Facebook launches new face recognition technology

0
31
Facebook

So many times your photos get uploaded on Facebook and you don’t have any idea that they are being used by someone, Are you someone who has a lot of photos/ upload lots of photos on your Facebook account? Facebook has launched a new facial recognition feature that you get control of your photos.

The company has used facial recognition since 2010 to suggest who should be tagged in a photo. Facebook will now make sure you know about and control the photos of you people upload send an alert any time a photo of you is uploaded to the social network even if you aren’t tagged in it now that’s a cool security feature.

The setting is optional and tied into your current use of the site’s facial recognition software, which suggests friends tag in your photos if you’ve got that feature turned on, then you would get these new alerts unless you opt out. Reports say the feature should give people confidence that there aren’t pics of them floating around Facebook that they could see but just don’t know about. The social media giant said it has no plans to use facial recognition to enhance ad targeting or content relevancy sorting, like showing you more News Feed posts from friends who post untagged photos of you or ads related to locations where you appear in untagged photos.

“Now, if you’re in a photo and are part of the audience for that post, we’ll notify you, even if you haven’t been tagged. You’re in control of your image on Facebook and can make choices such as whether to tag yourself, leave yourself untagged, or reach out to the person who posted the photo if you have concerns about it. We always respect the privacy setting people select when posting a photo on Facebook (whether that’s friends, public or a custom audience), so you won’t receive a notification if you’re not in the audience”  facebook said in a statement.

The Company said that they are introducing these new features in most places, except in Canada and the EU where we don’t currently offer face recognition technology.

If you think this feature is creepy or it will use all of your data with notifications there will be an option to turn it off.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here